The Gross Lumber Company has been a Carlisle staple for over a century. Our history in the lumber business started with Owen C. Gross, who came into the business as a bookkeeper in the late 1890s. In 1913, Owen and his business partner, Mr. Basore, operated the business as Gross & Basore which was primarily a coal yard and grain elevator. In 1926, Owen became sole owner of the coal yard and grain elevator and began the transition to a full-service lumber yard. He retired in 1950.
In 1945 Jim Gross, Sr. came back into the business after working for Aeronca Aircraft during the war. He was instrumental in forming the foundation for Gross Lumber Company and he was also on the first village council/board.
In 1974, Jim Gross Jr. returned to the business after his teaching career at Carlisle schools for 5 years. He moved the business into it’s current showroom in 1980.
We continue to be a full-service lumber yard and hardware store that is proudly serving the Carlisle, Franklin, Germantown, Miamisburg, Middletown, Springboro, and surrounding areas.
The Gross Lumber Company works with building professionals as well as any resident searching for the best materials for their projects. We are very proud of our 20 employees who are more like family. They put our customers first and deliver service to everyone the way each generation has been shown. Our staff works hard to have the knowledge and experience to help support all our customers with the highest quality products to make every project the best it can be. We are especially proud to have some of our staff with over 40 years of knowledge in the building materials business.
The Gross Lumber Company – For Best Buys